PDA

View Full Version : Manly & Uber Manly jobs as Compensation

Jodie_Lynn
09-10-2013, 01:05 PM
Something someone said in another thread about how "working a manly job would MAKE me more manly", started me thinking (yes, yes I know, dangerous but ...).

So here is my question: How many have taken jobs/careers that were considered to be the manliest, most macho jobs, in order to compensate, or suppress our more feminine identities? And, were you considered successful/good at your job?

In my case, I chose to become a member of a large metropolitan Police Force, and was assigned to a busy Precinct. I was good enough at my job to get promoted to Sergeant, and held that position for 2.5 years, until I resigned. The funny thing is, I hated and still do, confrontations.

Tracii G
09-10-2013, 01:16 PM
I was a commercial truck driver for 40+ years and I guess that is a macho job.
I didn't do it to prove anything I liked it because I didn't have a boss breathing down my neck and I could do pretty much what I wanted up to a point.
Sure the company told you where to go and what product to pick up and deliver and when you had to be somewhere but the rest was up to me.

Marcelle
09-10-2013, 01:37 PM
I have been in the military for 32 years and for the last 15 have been is with a "Special" group (very Alpha Male). Some will know what I mean.

Did not do it supress any feminine qualities or tendencies (who knows perhaps on some subconscious level I did) . . . Did it because I always wanted to be a soldier (for as long as I can remember). The group I work with now was my ultimate goal and the pinnacle of challenge for me (at least until now :battingeyelashes:)

Hugs

Isha

Melissa in SE Tn
09-10-2013, 01:46 PM
I would love to hear, from all of you in the stereotyped macho jobs, how you are able to transition from hard ass to sweet ass, if cding has taken a toll on your jobs and how your splices came to grips with your feminism?

Kate Simmons
09-10-2013, 02:10 PM