PDA

View Full Version : Hiding in plain sight - a social experiment

Marcelle
11-07-2013, 12:38 PM
Hi all,

I recently seen (and read) a few posts related to gals going out and how we are read/blend/pass and so on. Now, I know I get read whenever there is close scrutiny but I have learned to accept that. However, I still get paranoid when out and about in a large venue and feel like everyone is shooting daggers with their stares at me. So being a student of the human condition I asked myself the same question others have on this forum . . . "Are people really staring or is it just my imagination?"

So being a social scientist, I decided to conduct a bit of a field experiment. Specifically, I was going to go out dressed and observe how I am read, or not, by those around me. So I had a few things planned for the day and decided to dress in a manner which would allow me to blend (I have attached a picture). Of course every experiment needs a control and that would be me in a venue under close scrutiny. For this I chose to take my car in for servicing and wait for it. As expected I was read by those also in the waiting area but no adverse (OMG!!!!!!) reactions. More curiosity mixed with a hint of HUH?. However, if I moved around the showroom to look at cars most people did not pay attention to me except for the salesman who approached and tried to sell me a new vehicle. He was a bit confused as he approached me from behind and must have processed girl but when I turned he processed boy and it was awkward for a moment but he moved on to his sales pitch . . . commission is commission.

When I left the service station, I went to a busy mall close by to meet up with a friend for lunch. When I entered the mall, I held my head up and walked like I had purpose and that I belonged. Got a few stares and few giggles (teenage girls and boys) but for the most part I noticed people were to busy with their own life to notice little old me.