PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone thats come out at work, work in a restaurant type setting?

StephiefromSyr
02-12-2014, 12:00 AM
Im thinking of coming out at work which is a fast food/fast casual type place. I have about 12-13 employees. Im an assistant manager. Any advice in this situation?

vetobob9
02-12-2014, 01:02 AM
It depends on the city and state you work in. In California there are state laws that protect you. In Texas there are no state laws protecting you.

In my experience when I worked at a restaurant in Texas, I was a shift supervisor which practically meant night manager. When my coworkers found out I was transsexual, some of them were ok with it but the kitchen manager and a server from the morning shift would often harrass me and tell the employees on my shift not to follow any directions I gave them.

What is interesting is that the owner made me the night shift supervisor about a month after everyone found out I was trans. The kitchen manager and her friend refused to accept I was the supervisor for the evening shift. It got to where they kept trying to frame me for stealing money from the register, a review of the video showed the kitchen manager having her cousin go into the register to take out the money and then take it to the kitchen to give to her at which point she would leave with it. All caught on tape.

As if that was not enough, at one point she yanked my shirt up, exposing my bra for everyone to see and demanded I remove it.