PDA

View Full Version : Help...

princessheather86
02-23-2014, 02:36 AM
~Disclaimer: For the record, I have very little experience with issues of being transgendered, gender dysphoria, etc. My intention is not to cause offense or trivialize anyone's experiences. If I say something that is offensive, please call me on it as I only wish to treat people with the respect they deserve. Thank you.~

So, I know I'm still a new poster here, but I feel like this community is very welcome and understanding and I don't have anyone in my life I can talk to. First, a bit of background. I'm 27, a college student, and I've been having feelings of what I think might be gender dysphoria for a long time. It's only recently that I've come to think it might actually be gender dysphoria, and not just depression/anxiety/general feelings of being unhappy with my body caused by something else. This is why I would really appreciate some feedback or advice from someone who has experience with this kind of thing.

In short, I’ve wished I was a girl all my life, but I always dismissed it as something impossible. “I want to be a girl more than anything, but I'm a boy and there's nothing I can do” has basically been my mantra. Of course I was aware transgendered people existed, but I only had a very vague understanding of it until fairly recently.

A few things I'm sure of;

-If there were a way I could just flip a switch and become a girl, with everything that implies, but it was completely irreversible... I would do it without any hesitation at all. It's something I've thought about frequently and it's something I desire more than anything else and have always assumed is impossible.

-The prospect of surgery terrifies me. Not the “changing my body” part, but the “going under the knife and potentially having complications/dying on the table/horrible pain” part.