PDA

View Full Version : Therapy or no therapy?

Elaine
01-08-2006, 07:45 PM
Hello everyone... my first post here! Just a real quick bio so you know where I'm coming from -- I'm a student and planning to go full-time within 4-years with srs in my future (will transition when I move away for grad school). I've been out to most of my close family and friends for a couple years now and have become completely comfortable with who I am. My eventual career is very important to me and I intend to be living full time well before I get that far.

I'm looking for a little advice/infortmation.

First, I will say that my very first experience with a therapist wasn't great, but only because my mom essentially forced me to go after she caught me dressed (seems like an eternity ago now). I didn't gain anything from that person because I was trying to convince my mom that it was "just a phase" (I knew it wasn't, I just wasn't ready to come out).

Anywho, last year I went away to the University of North Dakota (yes, conservative central). By this time I'd evolved a lot and was starting to accept the fact that I would proabably want to transition. Halfway through the first semester I decided I wanted to talk to someone and found a therapist right in the same town (the only town for 80 miles, which was Fargo)! Only now do I realize how lucky I was to find this person, she was fantastic! She really understood me and I credit some of my self-acceptance to her help. If I hadn't transferred to a local university (I'm living home now, and the local school is much more suited to my major), I likely would have told her I wanted to go on HRT by now and I'm sure she would have approved of it.

Unfortunately, I now find myself 1,700 miles away and wanting very badly to be on hormones.