PDA

View Full Version : Dressing at work

Julia Cross
01-13-2006, 11:19 AM
I am curious as to how many of us are able to dress to some degree at work. I am fortunate that I work in the creative industry so no one seems to take notice that I often wear blouses, heeled boots (under my pants), hosiery, earrings, etc. Or so I think. In any case, I have actually been complimented by both women, and men on what I wear, and ironically it has always been when I am wearing a blouse or woman's top. When I would respond to the compliment by adding that they (men) would look great in at as well, I usually get the response, I could never wear something like that, it suits you, I am far too conservative. And then there are those who question my orientation because I take great care in ny appearance.

And to clarify things, i don't dress overtly as a woman, that would likely hurt my chances for advancement, I just try to find a balance between the more drab male clothing and more colourful and sensuous women's clothing. And based on the response I have received, I think there is a market for more delicate, colourful and stylish men's wear.

Anyone want to go into business with me?

Julia

MsEva
01-13-2006, 11:21 AM
Hi Julia..I guess I could do it under drab without any problems. I work in an office on my own, but circumstances wouldn't suit it...I work in public education. Lots of parents would just freak out...:o

Katie Ashe
01-13-2006, 11:25 AM
I dress everyday at work to some degree. I'm in the Computer Repair industry.
I do get noticed, as it is hard to hide, sometimes. And some do treat me slightly different, when dressed. But I am happy and look nice, that is all that matter right now.

AprilMae
01-13-2006, 11:31 AM
Where I work requires company supplied clothes, unisex Polo and slacks. But underneath I do wear panties and sometimes pantyhose if its cold. Sometimes I'll also wear neutral shoes and women's trouser socks.

Julia Cross
01-13-2006, 11:35 AM