PDA

View Full Version : Let it go

samantha rogers
05-04-2014, 06:50 PM
This is not meant to be anything that applies to anyone but me... perhaps some may understand.

Today, I had to make a long drive to be where I had to be for work tomorrow. As usual, long solitary drives get me thinking...and I wanted to share this...
I came out to my wife in January (and bless her for trying to understand and support that for which she never signed on), and I have since allowed myself a certain measure of freedom to open up, getting out, feeling the sun on my face, meeting people who see me now for who I really am, and dancing, dancing, dancing to the joy that is life. In truth, I have never done these things before.

I sit now before a hotel mirror, glancing every now and then at the aging face reflected back, free of the makeup and tricks I use to make myself try to look as I feel inside... or as close as possible. I see a face with more years behind me than ahead.