PDA

View Full Version : Low dose HRT

(Sara)
08-17-2014, 07:30 PM
Hi everybody,

I am currently at a crossroads, I have looked into the gateways to transition but I am studying abroad for a year, therefore the NHS will not be an option for a long time. Ultimately, with much deliberation and reading of side-effects and potential harm, I feel I need to start self-medicating, and as it would not be monitored by a doctor. I would consider a lower dose than is usual starting at 1/4 dose, rising to 1/2 doses if no negative reactions are felt. I am looking for advice on whether this would be beneficial for me, though I am not currently looking at a full transition due to circumstances out of my control, I am quite sure of my dysphoria. My aim is to alleviate the negative feelings and feminize without major physical change (namely in the breast department), though a halting of further masculine development is much welcomed.

Would it be reasonable to assume this is possible? Has anybody else had similar experiences and could share?

Thank you!

P.S. I am well aware nobody is a doctor and advice is not gospel etc. but anything you feel can help would be great.

whowhatwhen
08-17-2014, 07:33 PM
Are you unable to get medical care where you're going?
It seems kinda dangerous imho to do it without getting regular bloodwork done.

Eryn
08-17-2014, 07:56 PM
What you suggest is rather dangerous as different people react differently to these medications. The HRT patient needs to have levels established through lab tests to ensure that effective dosages are achieved without going too high.

PretzelGirl
08-17-2014, 08:18 PM
Results are variable as everyone reacts differently. I think you will find that most here will tell you the only viable option is to use a doctor. Anything else risks your health and no one here should be telling you what will happen based on your plan.

(Sara)
08-17-2014, 08:21 PM