PDA

View Full Version : A first?

lizbendalin
09-03-2014, 06:34 AM
By career I am a pastor.

This last week I accepted my next called position. What is interesting is that I have been out as transgender the entire search process. The church hired me knowing that I am somewhere on the spectrum between crossdresser and transsexual.

This last weekend when I was there to do the trial sermon and have in-depth conversations in person I was wandering around with my shaved legs and brightly painted toenails out in the open. In fact, at one point in the process, one of the members of the search committee said she could care less if I, "started the service in one gender and ended it in another." Now, that is not likely to happen, but it's nice to know they are fully accepting.

The church was at one time a big downtown church, but has shrunk in numbers in recent years. I start the job in January. All of you are welcome, and will be embraced as the person you desire to be. We will be the voice for progressive, pro-LGBT, pro-justice Christianity in Eastern Ohio. Feel free to join us at Zion United Church of Christ in Steubenville, OH.

CarlaWestin
09-03-2014, 06:56 AM
I'm not sure if it's a first but, it's certainly enlightening. I admire your peaceful coexistence of faith and proclivity.

Marcelle
09-03-2014, 07:12 AM
Hi Liz,

What a wonderful story and thanks for sharing. I can only guess having such a welcoming flock will make you job that much more pleasant.

Hugs

Isha

Kate Simmons
09-03-2014, 07:16 AM
Congratulations on your new position Liz. It's nice to know that there are some folks out there and groups of folks that are accepting and progressive in their thinking and spirituality. My best wishes to you and the congregation. :)

Claire Cook
09-03-2014, 07:22 AM
Hi Liz,