PDA

View Full Version : cosmetology school

maryjanecapri
01-24-2006, 07:56 PM
Well ladies it looks like my career is changing. I've been a professional actor for about 12 years now. Unfortunately the American political system is not a good bedfellow for the Arts and I see it slowly dying away. So I'm looking at a big career change and I will more than likely (about 90 % sure now) be taking on cosmetology school soon.

And why not? Transgender males are perfect candiates for good hairdressers.

Plus it looks like my fiances mother (both of which totally accept me) would love for me to take over her salon in florida when she retires in two years. Should that happen one of the things I intend on doing is offering services at certain times for my transgendered sisters and brothers so they can feel comfortable coming into a salon and asking for exactly the look they want.

Does this seem like something people would want? Anyone have any ideas about it (or opinions)?

Thanks all. Hope everyone is well.

DanaJ
01-24-2006, 08:09 PM
Better go to school in Florida then - 1200 hours to get your license vs 1800 in Kentucky ;)

Paula Rae
01-24-2006, 08:15 PM
Hey Mary Jane,

Sounds good to me, there's nothing I'd like better than be able to go to a CD acceptable salon thats managed by a CD. I would more than likely become a weekly visitor to such an establishment.

Cosmetology seems to be the profession of many Gay Men, I wonder about the number of CrossDressers in the profession?

Ricki B

maryjanecapri
01-24-2006, 08:40 PM
Better go to school in Florida then - 1200 hours to get your license vs 1800 in Kentucky ;)

very true. but i'd have to live in florida for a year to get residency first. there is an outstanding school here where i can get the license in 11 1/2 months (that's going 40 hours a week for nearly a year).