PDA

View Full Version : times are changing in the schools

jamie-upstate
11-21-2014, 08:25 PM
On December 2nd, the Shenendehowa School Board will be voting on whether to allow its high school students to request access to restrooms that correspond with the gender identity that the student exclusively and consistently asserts at school.*
Their request will be approved or denied by the superintendent or designee, along with the applicable building level administrator, based on several criteria.
We welcome you to share your thoughts/opinions on the school's proposal with us.

This is a large school in the capital district of NY

Karyn Marie
11-21-2014, 08:36 PM
I work in a school district, and we just had this discussion today. We DO allow the kids to use the restroom of the gender they identify with. We have not had any students in my school use the restroom of their chosen gender, but it is coming. I want to think I am okay with it, but most of the people I work with are not. I worry what the other students will do or say, and will the person be ridiculed.

Leilani
11-22-2014, 02:42 AM
I do not think that this is something that should be done. I think that if we, as a society, want to have unisex bathrooms for adults that is okay for discussion but when we begin to have a situation where we allow a boy or girl to use the "opposite" restroom, we are opening a can of worms that need not be dealt with. It seems to me that the percentage of people who question their identity not matching their birth gender is so low that we are putting a larger segment of the population at unease than we are helping. I ascribe to the "the good of the many outweighs the good of the few" philosophy so I think that in the interests of allowing the greater number of students to feel comfortable in these private areas we need to maintain a clear delineation for those who use the facilities. My opinion.

Rachelakld
11-22-2014, 04:06 AM