PDA

View Full Version : "I crossdress" vs. "I'm a crossdresser"

Lily Catherine
03-12-2015, 12:55 AM
Just a totally random thought I had at lunch: these terms feel so close yet so far, at least in the context of those who have no intent to transition.

Many of us here likely see CDing as a key part of us, though some (and much of the Muggle world it seems) might choose to view – is 'dismiss' even an appropriate word with the Muggles? – it as a hobby.

Perhaps it's in the sense of "I drive" vs. "I'm a driver" as opposed to "I'm a basketballer" vs. "I play basketball"; something mundane to us.

Are we, or do we? Or do we do it because of how we are?

Jenniferathome
03-12-2015, 12:59 AM
Who would cross dress but a cross dresser?

SandraB
03-12-2015, 03:56 AM
A cross dresser that doesn't cross dress, while possible, I think highly unlikely. From previous experience and until I embraced it, I found it impossible to resist.
A person that cross dresses that is not a cross dresser, again possible, especially if there is another motive. For example a performer. I don't know if Brendan O'Carroll is a cross dresser but he makes a fine living as Mrs. Brown. I'm sure there are other examples.

Marcelle
03-12-2015, 03:59 AM
Hi Iris,

This is kind of a "chicken and egg" question . . . What came first the crossdresser or the dress. I would posit that if you like to dress in women's clothing (irrespective of for fun or by necessity) it is innate in some way and as such we do it because of the way we are.

"I crossdress therefore I am"

Hugs

Isha

TinaZ
03-12-2015, 04:01 AM
I'm guessing a good percentage of comedians who cross dress for comic effect are not cross dressers.

I've said it before, but I consider myself a noun (cross dresser), and the manifestation of that is the verb (cross dressing). If I found myself stranded on a deserted island, I'd likely stitch together a seaweed skirt before trying to start a bonfire.

AllieSF
03-12-2015, 04:37 AM