PDA

View Full Version : Unexpected daytime outing!

raeleen
04-19-2016, 11:35 AM
So yesterday I headed in to see my therapist, and on occasion I've been dressing when we meet. It's a nice chance for me to express femme and be in a safe space as I'm still pretty new to being in public and I don't pass very well. Well for one reason or another, we got our times mixed up, and she was unable to see me for what I thought was our appointment time. Super bummed. However, she then encouraged me since I was all girled up to go outside and enjoy the nice weather. She thought it would be good for my confidence to be out in the world. I was wearing a blue cotton dress, beige sweater, tights and angle boots. So a bit dressed up but nothing too fancy.

Now, I've never been outside during the day, and I was terrified about the idea. However, her office is in a super LGBT friendly area of the city, and I had actually been out a couple times in that area during the evening. So, I put on my big girl panties, and decided to go for a nice walk around the block. In daylight! I was so scared, but guess what. Nothing happened! No shouts or jeers. In fact, barely a sideways glance. I even went in and got a cup of iced coffee from a shop.

It did wonders for my confidence, and I can't wait to give it another go sometime.

I love hearing the stories of other girls venturing out, and just thought I'd share mine. I do think being a part of this supportive community and hearing how so many of you go shopping and explore the world so openly has helped me see that it's ok to go out and dress how I want.

Thank you!

Debra Russell
04-19-2016, 11:41 AM
It will just keep getting better :hugs:..........................Debra

Dana44
04-19-2016, 11:45 AM
Way to go Raeleen, yep it's a nice world out there and most people will let you be what you want to be. It is nice that you are building confidence.

suzanne
04-19-2016, 12:24 PM