PDA

View Full Version : Who earns a Living in an Strongly Intolerant Business/Profession, How do you Cope?

Sarasometimes
05-13-2016, 11:46 AM
I do and most of the times I just chalk it up to ignorance and fear, but other times it is also saddening? I'm definitely in a worlds would collide circumstance, but good and bad is it pays way too well to switch.

Tina_gm
05-13-2016, 12:02 PM
Hi, my profession isn't so horribly intolerant, but my location sure is. Ignorance, fear, hatred. I call it toxic masculinity. round here if the woman got a man that ain't out huntin or hammerin, she got a girlfriend. I saw that on a social media meme btw. other similar ones. countless anti trans bathroom stuff, anti Caitlyn jenner stuff. anti gay stuff. Oxford Alabama??? No try upstate NY. I feel so out of place nowadays. Partly I am sure due to my own acceptance, but for whatever reason, perhaps socio economic reasons, there's been some sort of shift of demographics. Yes, there have always been many of the rural attitude, but the amount now living in the smaller cities, the intensity of it all is amazing me. I am trying to hang on until I can officially retire in a few years. I don't know if I am going to make it or not. Fortunately even though both my wife and myself are from here, she's just as eager to get out of this area as I am. Sad when home no longer feels like home.

Rachelakld
05-13-2016, 04:26 PM
If discovered, I suspect I would have to find, not another company (as staff regularly swap companies and we all know each other), but a totally different profession

Sarah Beth
05-13-2016, 04:55 PM