PDA

View Full Version : Out at work

JanePeterson
06-09-2016, 01:15 PM
So to continue in the spirit of open revelation...

I sent in a memo to my bosses today explaining the fact that I'm trans and need to transition.

Now that it's partially out there, I feel able to add that I'm an active duty officer in the US Coast Guard with 13 yrs of service, and that after today my career and life is almost certain to change in the most fundamental ways, and while I am terrified, I am also emboldened by the strongest sense of TRUTH I've ever felt, and by the many hands of my sisters here and my friends and family that are holding me up.

The future is uncertain, but I'm committed - stay tuned! I'll try and post up the verbiage of my memo redacted for public display later today.

BIG EDIT - just reread the title I have this and realized it gives the impression that I'm out to my co-workers... This is NOT the case - I merely sent in notice to my boss that this is a thing, my crew is and will remain in the dark until the CG decides what to do with me.

AllieSF
06-09-2016, 02:10 PM
Congratulations and good luck. I don't remember if you said anything before, but are you in any way protected from dismissal or forced early retirement in the Coast Guard for coming out as trans? I will stay tuned as your new life unfolds. Thanks for sharing.

Suzanne F
06-09-2016, 02:59 PM
Jane
I am so impressed with your courage. We will be here for you!
Suzanne

MissDanielle
06-09-2016, 04:31 PM
You know I have your back. Best of luck!

Barbara Dugan
06-09-2016, 05:06 PM
The first step is the hardest but its always necessary ...congratulations.

Georgette_USA
06-09-2016, 05:50 PM
I guess with all the new computer mail and such. Sending a memo is a little impersonal. I did all mine face to face, to explain what it is and what I needed to do.

I was a contractor on a US Army installation so they would have to be involved with any decision also.

Sue Too
06-09-2016, 06:41 PM
Hi Jane,