PDA

View Full Version : Well, I did it!

Mark B
03-24-2017, 12:55 PM
Last week I checked my companies dress policy to see exactly what was stated. Men must wear proper business dress attire (tie and Jacket) except on Friday's where a more casual attire can be worn. No tie and jacket but also no jeans. I typically wear on Fridays slacks and a polo shirt as my casual attire. Women must also wear business attire as well. Most wear skirts and jackets and while a few wear high heel pumps, most wear 2" pumps or flats. On Friday the girls wear more business slacks and no jackets. So it's a pretty strict dress code. Our boss is very old school and I don't mind at all. In fact, it is one of the reasons I choose to work there. I personally believe that the business world is getting more and more casual and I don't like that trend.

Anyway, I have been wearing 3" heels to the office now for about 2 months and no one has said a word. Not even the boss. I had joked with a female co-worker that next on the list was me wearing a skirt to the office. Well, today being Friday, I wore something just a bit different. Granted, we had an unusually amount of people out of the office today so I knew that there would be less people around to interact with.

I got work a little early before most just so I can get settled in my office without being to noticed. But the receptionist was setting at her desk. She just looked and smiled and said the typical "good morning". I was in my office about 10 minutes when the receptionist came in and asked if I would show her my outfit as she didn't get a good look when I walked in. She called it a "surprised brain fade". So I stood up and let her look. She said that she wished her legs were as nice as mine and that I looked very nice. My secretary came in a few seconds later and just said "well, you did it and you look great!"