PDA

View Full Version : some random thoughts on cooking and whether it's gender related...

Marianne
10-24-2004, 12:33 PM
We've had a couple of threads lately that discussed gender specific roles. Cooking was one of them.

Personally, I don't see cooking as a gender specific role, it's one of those things that you either enjoy and are good at, you simply do because you have to, or you avoid as much as possible and rely on the good old microwave.

I'm a fairly good cook, and I do take a great deal of pleasure in cooking a meal for others from time to time. I have a reputation for being able to prepare a viciously hot curry and one of my friends once reacted to my leek and parsnip soup (which has cayenne pepper in it) by leaping up from the kitchen table and putting her head under the cold water faucet, mouth turned up into the cold water...

My own 'style' is to use whatever I have available when I'm cooking for myself tho, and I haven't had to throw much away in a long time.

So, last weekend, I came up with this...

http://elawyn.homestead.com/files/omelette.jpg

I was actually quite surprised at how good it turned out.

A baloney and blue cheese omellette. Something I've *never* seen on a menu anywhere else!

Julie
10-24-2004, 12:41 PM
I'm passable with things like roasts, curries etc... I am though no good with pastry, luckily these days you can by it already made up.

The best meals though are those that you experiment with by using different ingredients, they always taste that little better, to me at least. :)

Cooking is definately not gender specific (although there are some thick heads who'd say it is)

Julie J

babe4life
10-24-2004, 12:42 PM
That actually looks pretty good :).

Love,
Vicky

Marianne
10-24-2004, 12:45 PM
Hey try spam next time! ;)

I would have done, but the baloney was fresh. The spam can wait until I'm *really* running short.