PDA

View Full Version : Dumb law (does this actually exist)

Michelle Crossfire
09-19-2017, 01:17 AM
To all those out in California, i was doing some research and came across this law,which supposedly is on the books in Walnut, California:

"Males may not dress as a female unless a special permit is obtained from the sheriff."

Any comment from our sisters in California?

Fiona123
09-19-2017, 05:06 AM
I'm a paralegal, not a lawyer but it sounds way unconstitutional to me.

Kayliedaskope
09-19-2017, 05:23 AM
Considering all the weird laws out there, I wouldn't be surprised.......

I found this, though ...

http://www.pbs.org/newshour/updates/arresting-dress-timeline-anti-cross-dressing-laws-u-s/

alwayshave
09-19-2017, 05:38 AM
Michelle, I am a lawyer and it would be a violation of the 1st amendment freedom of speech clause, due process clause of the 5th and 14th amendment and the equal protection under the 14th. There are lots of laws that are artifacts on the books that are not enforced or enforceable.

Sheila B Kelly
09-19-2017, 05:54 AM
Could be the sheriff runs a dressing service and is very territorial ...!

Alberta_Pat
09-19-2017, 06:02 AM
I would not be surprised.

In 2009, an amateur wine making club wanted to hold a convention in California, only to discover that it was against the law to transport and taste
wine in a competition format.

Arnie, when approached with this information caused a bill to be presented in the State Senate to correct this.

Strangely, this law did not affect beer tasting competitions.

GretchenJ
09-19-2017, 06:31 AM
It is the law as Michelle states in Walnut

http://qcode.us/codes/walnut/view.php?version=beta&view=mobile&topic=iii-17-17_31

Lisa Roberts
09-19-2017, 06:37 AM
Rejoice! According to the article, we were crossdressing back in the 1800's. Mmmm... Petticoats and Corsets!!!
Lace and Smiles
Lisa

Tracii G
09-19-2017, 06:55 AM
There is a law in Ky that says its illegal to run with an ice cream cone in your pocket.