PDA

View Full Version : US Immigration and flying pretty

jazzysherry
11-11-2017, 04:07 AM
I have been flying pretty for many years and am traveling to JFK from the united Kingdom in a few days time. I wanted to fly pretty on this flight but am nervous about the immigration people.

I have been in contact with CBP and asked questions around a trans status and they said I may be asked for some 'extra' documentation. I have a letter from my doctor stating that I attended consultation presenting as a female.

I am also a member of CBP's Global Entry program under my male ID which may or may not help.

I did fly transatlantic once before but swapped my wig for a baseball cap just before leaving the aircraft so I feel I cheated!

Does anyone have experience or advice on this?

Rogina B
11-11-2017, 06:34 AM
"They' may take you into a more private space and have you lift your wig as sort of proof that it is you under it. No big deal..You will be on your way quickly..They may ask you "Why are you presenting this way? " All within their rights based on your ID. Nothing is a problem,unless you make it one.

jazzysherry
11-11-2017, 11:37 AM
Thanks and fingers crossed all will be ok. X

chelyann
11-11-2017, 11:34 PM
good luck , let us know how it goes

Sami Brown
11-11-2017, 11:58 PM
I don't have any advice but want to say that I admire your courage. I am too much of a scaredy cat!

Sami

Richelle
11-12-2017, 02:14 AM
I am a US citizen so it might be a little different for me. But I have flown multiple times overseas as my femmin self. I did not have problems coming back in from Europe or China, even though my passport has my mail name and gender marker of male.

Richelle

jjjjohanne
11-12-2017, 12:24 PM