PDA

View Full Version : Told someone who knew me in high school, back in the 1970’s

Ceera
08-06-2018, 12:18 AM
I graduated from high school in 1975. Back then, I was just a typical male computer geek. I did play a little sports - like tennis and basketball, but the only school team I was on was track, throwing the discus. Nothing about me back then hinted at the woman I am becoming today. And as can be expected over the course of more than 40 years, I lost track of everyone I knew in high school.

About nine months ago, a guy I knew back then contacted me via Facebook. My male name account had come up as ‘someone you may know’ for him. He was one of the guys I hung out with, but not a close friend. He is still a tech geek, with low social skills, and still lives in my old home town. We chatted a bit via Messenger and Skype, but I did not let him see me as a woman, or know I am bi. I was kind of glad I had been cautious, because he eventually commented that another guy we had both known back then was now female. And his tone was rather disparaging, when mentioning her. I came to the conclusion that I had little reason to remain in contact with him. The next several times he messaged me, I just ignored him.

Well, today he messaged me again, repeatedly, asking if I was going to go to a school reunion picnic that is coming up. I was going to ignore him again, but a lady I am renting a room to commented that if it was her, she would tell him, and make it a ‘teaching moment’. Especially since I really did not care if I ever talked to him again. Nothing to lose, and maybe could make him understand trans people better. So the conversation went something like this...

===

Him: Hey dude. There is an event coming up at our high school. Where did you say you live?

Me: About a two hour drive south of you. Have a pretty busy schedule, so unlikely I can attend any reunion events.

Him: Do you ever get into Portland?