PDA

View Full Version : Estadio weekly parches, sideffects?

Devi SM
08-12-2018, 02:06 PM
So far is more than 3 months I'm in HRT with weekly estradiol patches.
I'd had some issues like a red spot with the size and form of the patch, circle around 2 inches diameter, during and after remove it that last almost a month, dry skin and itching that goes disappearing after 3 or 4 days.
I asked endocrinologist, who's no more seeing me because he will leave, for alternatives like injections or pills and he said that the first give you a peak of hormones and don't work as the patches slowly releasing.
He said that the last, pill, has some serious side effect affecting the liver.
Anyone experiencing the same, normal? Using different ways for estradiol?
Thanks.

Joan_CD
08-12-2018, 02:56 PM
Hi,

I’ve been using the vivelle patch for several years. When I remove the patch the area is red as you described with a little itching. It goes away within a day or so. I believe this is perfectly normal. If it bothers you try putting some hydrocortisone cream or any anti itch cream. It might help. I’m older, so the patch is the safest way to get my E. My T is virtually non existent and my E is the same as any other post menopausal woman.

Mirya
08-12-2018, 07:15 PM
I've always been on injections from the beginning of HRT (estradiol valerate). But there was a brief period almost 2 years ago where there was a shortage of the injections, so my doctor put me on the patch. I used it for several weeks and experienced the same side effects - redness, dryness, and itching where the patch is applied. I think it's normal, especially if you have sensitive skin. I still use patches occasionally if I'm traveling (easier to travel with than carrying around a vial and needles). But I can't use it for too long because it irritates my skin.

Laura912
08-13-2018, 08:38 AM