PDA

View Full Version : Clothes Making

Megan_Renee
04-08-2006, 09:16 AM
Do any of you girls make your own clothes? I just made a tight long-skirt like those elegant ones you see in movies where the rich heroin of the film is forced to mince around looking bewilderingly sexy the entire film...

Retail cost: Probably $50 or more (couldn't find one online)

Home-made cost (excluding time) $2.

Money saved: $48...

Exquisit custom feel: priceless...

Megan

tvgirl4fun
04-08-2006, 09:29 AM
I've been making dresses and things for a few years now. Just simple easy patterns, and finding material at Wal-Mart for $1. or $2. a yard. It feels really nice when someone compliments on it too. Especially after you tell them you made it! Jaie

Julie York
04-08-2006, 10:03 AM
I'm into all sorts of crafts and creative things. I bet I'd make a decent effort at making something but I haven't the room for the machine. I imagine it is actually very interesting in an engineering problem solving way too.

Amelie
04-08-2006, 10:20 AM
I make my own clothes, OK they aren't works of art, but then again, I don't wear fancy clothes.

Joy Carter
04-08-2006, 11:50 AM
A local sewing machine store advertises classes I wonder If they would be shocked at a male signing up +? I have seen a couple of other gurls with web sights who sew some beautiful clothes (self taught) so why not.

Megan_Renee
04-08-2006, 12:35 PM
A local sewing machine store advertises classes I wonder If they would be shocked at a male signing up +? I have seen a couple of other gurls with web sights who sew some beautiful clothes (self taught) so why not.

They would probably LOVE to have you there. I've just joined a knittig circle and they LOVE having a guy there. Some of the ladies think it's odd, but most of them came over and chatted with me about this and that.