PDA

View Full Version : Cant Toe Nail Polish Cause Problems?

Karren H
07-18-2006, 10:17 AM
I just wondered if anyone else has experienced this...Usually keep my toes painted and only change colors about once a month. But twice this year. I've gotten a toe nail infection, the last one was nasty and destroyed half of my nail before I got it under control. So does leaving polish on for extended periods of time cause an increase in fungas problems? Unlike GG's who wear sandles a lot and keep their feet well ventilated, mine are trapped in male dress shoes or sneakers <sigh> mostly! Seems like the perfect breading ground for all kinds of nastys! Never really had any problems before I started painting my nails so maybe its just a coincedence? What's your experience?

Love Karren

angie_pacd
07-18-2006, 10:20 AM
Karen,
I have a bad nail infection in half my toe nails, I swore it was from polish I wore for years. Maybe it does have something to do with it. Angie

Ginagirl
07-18-2006, 10:40 AM
Are there any nasties in those Hockey Boots???? hehe. Just kidding. As far as I know most infections come from unsanitzed cleaning tools. If you groom them before polishing, make sure your tools are clean. When your in drab a powder might help along with natural fiber socks, like cotton and not nylon combo that make your feet perspire.

Karren H
07-18-2006, 11:07 AM
Are there any nasties in those Hockey Boots???? hehe.

You don't even want to smell my skates of my hockey bah!! Worse than a chicken farm in August!! :). But you do have a point that I didn't think about!!

Love Karren

mellisa's wife
07-18-2006, 11:13 AM
Hi. Just to let you know.... I would not be too quick to blame the polish on your toenails.

I have polished mine constantly for probably 30-some years. ( ouch that hurt to write that) Never had an infection of my toenails.