PDA

View Full Version : Long hair and jobs

AmandaM
09-02-2006, 10:56 PM
I was wondering if you have long hair and if it is problematic, at work, etc. Especially for those over 35. I was thinking about growing it out, and using a ponytail when at work. I work in the computer industry. Any thoughts?

Billijo49504
09-02-2006, 11:10 PM
Hi, I work in a car factory, and if your hair is below your collar, you have to have it under a hat. So I keep it short. In 60 some drive up's, I'll be retired. But I'll keep it short, as the top is really rhin...BJ

Barb Valentine
09-02-2006, 11:12 PM
Sorry I can't help you
I don't have any hair
(OK a little but not much)

sandra-leigh
09-03-2006, 12:38 AM
I was wondering if you have long hair and if it is problematic, at work, etc. Especially for those over 35. I was thinking about growing it out, and using a ponytail when at work. I work in the computer industry. Any thoughts?

It depends partly what kind of work you do in the computer industry. It's more likely to be of concern to someone if you are meeting customers. If you aren't, then it's just part of the "computer programmers are weird" culture.

It isn't always a problem for those who do meet customers, but consulting firms especially (and finance firms) tend to get very strict ideas about how their male employees should look. 20 years ago, when I was involved in some consulting, the rules in some companies were strict enough that a male was never to remove his jacket at a client site or where a client might see. I don't know if it is still like that.

Do some of the guys around you have earrings? (Some of the guys where I work do, and I doubt greatly that they are CDs). Or an even better test: do any of them have obvious piercings of other kinds? If Yes, then hair in a ponytail is not likely to be a problem unless a safety one (don't want it caught in the fans of hardware you are repairing, for example.)

femboi (san diego)
09-03-2006, 12:41 AM