PDA

View Full Version : Sizing on clothes?

NYsong
10-10-2006, 02:42 PM
Hello, I'm a new member here, and I love the people already!

However, in a week or two, I am going out shopping for the first time for my feminine side. What is the difference between the sizing in girls and guys clothing?? Is there a conversion chart that I can use? Im sorry to bother you with questions, but I am pretty new to all of this, and want to do it well1

Thanks in advance!

axdressa
10-10-2006, 03:04 PM
sorry i havnt seen a conversion chart as such ... all i know is that i am of slim build and can wear size 10/12 so i dont really know about bigger builds and what sizes .... if it help i am a 36" chest 30" waist and and 34" hips 32" inside leg hope this is of some help to you

hugz Mallisa x

celeste26
10-10-2006, 03:33 PM
Both Romans and Lane BRyant have size charts where you can plug in your measurements and get your size. Other online stores probably have them also but these are the ones I frequent.

NYsong
10-10-2006, 03:52 PM
thanks a lot! You both helped me very much!

vbcdgrl
10-10-2006, 03:58 PM
The sizing "systems" are completely different for guy's vs gal's clothes. It was a trial and error excercise for me. For instance, I wear a XL guy's shirt and an 18/20W(women's)ladies top. I wear a size 18 dress, size 18 skirt, and, right now I'm wearing a size 16 stretch denim pants. Ladie's clothes sizes are divided into 2 categories, misses and women's. The women's sizes are bigger. while the misses clothes are for the slimmer gals. If you go into almost any store, you'll see the misses and women's sections.
If you can "borrow" a dress from a GG friend or SO and try it on, you'll get a quick check on size comparison. Make note of the dress size and whether it's too tight or too loose.
Many of the girls have just gone to a big store, such as Lane Bryant, in drab,and have been allowed to try stuff on.
Have fun shopping!

Vikki

Eugenie
10-10-2006, 04:21 PM