PDA

View Full Version : Ottawa support

Sally2005
11-03-2006, 12:35 PM
Has anyone here had experience with "Gender Metaphor" or "Gender Mosaic" in Ottawa Ontario? Which group is better? I was wondering if they offer a place to change and members who enjoy going out and privacy?

Bernadina
11-03-2006, 12:52 PM
I don't know, but I'd choose the one Stephen Harper does not belong to.

sandra-leigh
12-19-2006, 02:55 PM
Has anyone here had experience with "Gender Metaphor" or "Gender Mosaic" in Ottawa Ontario? Which group is better? I was wondering if they offer a place to change and members who enjoy going out and privacy?

I have no experience with either, but as I am going to be in Ottawa for a few days, I have just examined their websites,

http://www.geocities.com/gender_metaphor/
http://www.gendermosaic.ca/

Both organizations offer privacy and social events.

I note though that the gender metaphor site is mostly years out of date. There is also something intangible that bothers me about the tone of the site.

The gender mosaic site appears to be relatively well organized, and generally up to date. I can see that the organization itself is more formal -- e.g., with considered Bylaws, standing committees, rules about which exec positions can be drawn from outside the membership, and so on. More bureaucratic possibly. On the other hand, they went through the bother of putting in an omnibudsman position to smooth things out.

gender metaphor's rules for the execuative is that to run for office you have to have attended at least 7 social events in the previous year, and that your dues are free while you are an exec.
gender mosaic's rules are that new members have a 91 day probation period and afterwards are full members, and any member with paid-up dues can run for the exec.
So I kind of get the impression, perhaps unjustified, that at gender metaphor, there is peer pressure to get out to the social events or else you aren't a "real" member.