PDA

View Full Version : Outed myself at work today.

DeeInGeorgia
11-30-2006, 10:56 PM
I work at a large defense contractor. The site I work at has a Diversity Council that acts as an advisory panel to management. Every year, half of the 17 members get replaced by new members from the facility. Candidates can be nominated or self nominated.

I nominated myself. Later, I had to provide an essay of why I wanted to be on the Site Council and a bit about myself. Then they interviewed many of the candidates.

I had my interview today in front of 4 past site council presidents (kept as an advisory group for the advisory council even though they are no longer on the council) as well as the upcoming site council president and the overall Division head of all the site councils and a couple others.

Because of the desire to serve on the council, as well as since I now am a member of Tri-Ess, and because I work in the defense industry, for security clearance reasons, I had to Out myself to these people. I ended up also explaining there was a difference between transgender and sexual orientation and that my corporation did not yet recognize transgender in its corporate Diversity statement.

I guess I will really find out now just how serious they are about accepting the differences in people where I work.

Dee

Phoebe Reece
11-30-2006, 11:05 PM
Dee,

That took some major courage to do what you have done. I certainly hope it all works out well for you. You will certainly have something interesting to talk about at our next meeting.

See you again soon.

TeriAnn
11-30-2006, 11:10 PM
I have never outed myself to anyone but my wife BlueBird. She is totally understanding and helps me in anyway possible. Maybe some day I will tell someone else but not right now. I am glad you had the guts to stand up for what you believe in.:^5:

Jesse69
11-30-2006, 11:25 PM
Keep us updated. Can you tell me how to get a security clearance? Would a felony prevent me from getting one?

BREE GG