PDA

View Full Version : Keep us in your thoughts

Vanessa Sheridan
02-23-2007, 05:50 PM
Hi everyone,

Just wanted you to know that I'm helping to facilitate a seminar at the U of Minnesota tomorrow (Saturday, the 24th) for the local trans community. I've been doing this for the last 12 years in conjunction with the U's Program in Human Sexuality, and the goal is to promote safety, health, awareness, and community for transfolk. Please keep us in your thoughts--especially since we're supposed to get several inches of snow within the next 2-3 days. Travel might get a bit sticky for some of the attendees (not to mention yours truly!).

Thanks,
Vanessa Sheridan

marie354
02-23-2007, 06:00 PM
Vanessa, I'm so glad. You are one of the best represenatives for us all.
Please, please, drive carefully because the roads can become very slippery.

RobertaFermina
02-23-2007, 06:16 PM
Thank You for being You!

Best wishes for you and all attendees and all who take part in producing this Seminar.

:rose: Roberta :rose:

Christina Nicole
02-23-2007, 06:33 PM
I've been doing this for the last 12 years in conjunction with the U's Program in Human Sexuality, and the goal is to promote safety, health, awareness, and community for transfolk.

I don't know if this is to the benefit or detriment of those who are transgendered. Other than those whose paraphilia involves clothing of the opposite sex, for example, the panty fetishists, crossdressing and transsexuality have little to nothing to do with sexuality. To lecture about transgenderism within the bounds of sexuality would tend to reinforce incorrect and obsolete stereotypes. The common stereotypes of crossdressers being gay (http://crossdressers.com/forums/showpost.php?p=761553&postcount=1) or falling under the umbrella of transvestic fetishism should be downplayed, not aggrandized.

It might be better if that session does get snowed out. I can't think of one good reason to compound undesirable belief patterns.

Warm regards,