PDA

View Full Version : Guilt put on the SO?

AmberTG
06-03-2007, 02:05 PM
I'm guessing that this might be a bit controversial, but with all the related threads that have been on here lately, I wanted to bring this out, and it's just my opinion, other opinions are welcome here, from all the members.
I've been thinking about what we expect from our SOs, I'm speaking from a MTF point of view, can't speak from the FTM side of it, I have no experience there, but I'm sure this could apply there also.
It seems to me that we put a large burden on our SO to accept this part of us, especially if it was unknown in the early part of the relationship. I don't think this applies to those who were upfront from the beginning, that's different.
We expect so much acceptance from our SO about CDing or TG issues, but we tend to forget that she didn't sign on for this. Put yourself in her place for a moment. How would you feel if your wife came up to you one day and told you that she wanted to be a man and started dressing like a man, including the underwear. She cut her hair and wore it man-like and wanted a mastectomy and a penus. Would you, as a CDer, or even as a TG be OK with having a life partner with these issues? Some of us would be OK with it, I'm sure, but how many of you would not. (And, yes, I know lots of women my age fit the description for clothing and hair, but not the intention.)
Finding out that you're SO is a CDer or TG after being with them for some time and not knowing is quite a shock and causes a loss of emotional security, can you blame them if they have a hard time with it?
Some women just don't want to be a part of a relationship that involves CDing or transition, they got involved with a man and that's what they want to be with. I understand that completely.