PDA

View Full Version : Thank You

TxKimberly
08-26-2007, 10:16 AM
A few times in recent posts, people have flitted around the subject of people that have influenced them or been role models. I thought I'd stop dancing around it and hit it square on the head.
There have been people that apparently affected me at just the right time in my "TG Development" if you will. Dee Dee Crossmore was the first I think. It was about 1995 I think and I had just gotten out of the Army and started my first adult civilian job. My company was starting a new service and repair center in Austin and I was the sole component of it. So much to do trying to get it off the ground that I was often working VERY late or VERY early (3AM) and had the entire facility to myself. It was then that I started playing with the Internet through a slow modem - something 100% new to me. I stumbled on to Dee Dee Crossmore who was living in Alaska and telling stories of how she was going out and living in the sunshine and talking to people - just being alive! I remember my heart pounding at the thought and thinking "I WANT TO DO THAT!"
Thank you Dee Dee Crossmore (http://members.tgforum.com/Crossmore/ddc_bio13.htm) - thank you for showing me that we CAN be out in the world AND it can be done with class and style!

Eventually I learned there were more people like me in Austin and that there were safe places to go. I found out about a place called 'Bout Time in Austin where TG's were very welcome and I tried SO hard to get the courage up to go and check it out. I drove there probably half a dozen times and parked outside but just couldn't get up the courage to go in, even in boy mode to check it out.
The next person that was a major influence, I met in a chat room/forum much like this one, but it was on AOL and called the Gazebo (Spelling?)