PDA

View Full Version : Coming Out And The Depression

flacindycd
10-21-2007, 11:35 AM
Being a closeted cd all my life (im 53 yrs young now,married 32) i am married to a great woman, however thru the years ive had bouts of depression, anxiety, mood swings, my dr. put me on meds, they worked for a while , then i felt worse after about 2 months, then, i had to kick them,which was a battle in itself...I have been wrestling with coming out to her for 2 yrs now, and I'm scared shitless........Of the outcome if i do tell,,,,
HELP!!!

Marla S
10-21-2007, 11:45 AM
Sorry to hear about your pain.

According to my experiences meds without counseling is not optimal if you are depressive or have anxiety attacks.
Perhaps you could look for a good counselor, talk with him about your gender issues (or other problems), and find the right time together with him/her to invite your wife. Maybe a third person can cushion the "shock" for your wife and help her to understand your fear to tell her.

Sometimes it's better to have a third person to moderate in highly emotional situations.

trannie T
10-21-2007, 01:12 PM
You are dealing with two serious issues. Get help with your depression, there was a recent study that determined that depression was treatable with a combination of therapy and medication. Once you get your head right work on your other issues.

Karren H
10-21-2007, 02:02 PM
And scared you should be.. Just look around at the posts.. Not very comforting all the doom and gloom.. Divorce! A consider mtself lucky that my wiofe found out (not maybe at the time I didn't) and was a bit shakey for a while but she still loves me as her husband. And turns a blind eye to my crossdressing.. Doesn't want to know... And once in a while you'll find one here who's wife loves the idea of their SO crosdressing.. But that is a rarety.. Most don't fair to well..