PDA

View Full Version : First-time shopping - total newb

LilahCD
12-04-2007, 03:41 PM
Hello ladies, I have a question which I probably should have asked from the outset:

As I've posted here before, I am completely alone with my CDing. My hetero friends have mostly abandoned me (in addition to being CD, I'm bi with leanings towards men), the one person who took me shopping set me up with a ridiculous pair of pants with bad rhinestones down the seams and a DD tank top with in-built bustier.. the only other clothes I have are a bra, a pair of (cheap) blue panties, two pairs of hose with holes in them and a calico-print granny dress.

So, to my question: What should I pick up for my first real outfit, and where should I go to get it? It's winter here in NE Washington, so obviously it should be something warm; I've thought about Wal-Mart after 10:00 but that just feels.. creepy for some reason.

I should probably add that I'm a rather large person at 6'3", 200-215 lbs. and I have no experience with makeup, besides mascara and eyeliner; a bad combination, from what I've gathered on these boards.

I know I won't pass completely due to my size, but I would at least like to blend in in passing.. Thank you in advance for any advice you might offer, and happy holidays!

Kristen Marie
12-04-2007, 03:49 PM
That is quite an outfit. I am further up in Boston and I am beginning to pull out my flared jeans and sweater. No rhinestones on these jeans, and my bustier, or corset is underneath. If I go out, my size alone attracts attention. I'm on 6', three whole inches smaller, so I know what you are saying.

Try getting a simple black stretch skirt at a thrift store for $10, some nice shoes at Payless and a top on sale at Lane Bryant. They have lots of mark-downs and you'll need a larger top because of your shoulders. Make-up is personal, but you need to get a beard cover and a foundation before you start working on your eyes.

charlie
12-04-2007, 03:55 PM