PDA

View Full Version : Aint right

Jill
01-04-2008, 03:45 PM
I've been working in youth corrections for several years and I also have a job in which I am hired to go to peoples homes and take kids to a correctional facility. It's an interesting job and my job exists because a lot of parents enroll their kids in these facilities and the parents are unable to get them there themselves so they hire two people to come to their home and move their kid to the facility. I did a job this morning where a coworker and I picked up a thirteen year old kid. As we were driving with him to the program, I was feeling confused as to why the parents of this teenager would have them removed from their home. The teenagers I work with are drug addicts, criminals who drink, self-harm or run away. Not to mention fighting, getting kicked out of school, vandalism and so on. Not to mention the mental illnesses that come with them, severe depression, post-traumatic stress disorder, bipolar disorder, OCD and even schizophrenia. This kid had none of that. He hadn't even experimented with drugs. His parents reported that he had been stealing, we asked him what he had been stealing and his answer came as a surprise. "My Uncle's girlfriends underwear."

I can't be positive, but I think that they sent him out of their home and off to a facility because he crossdresses and took some underwear. I'm not saying it's ok for him to do but it seemed to me that the parents are over reacting a little bit here. Poor kid, aint right. But I guess really it's none of my business nor is it my problem. I'm just glad that wasn't me as a thirteen year old.

gennee
01-04-2008, 03:55 PM
That is over the top by the parents. I wonder if the parents have ever asked why he crossdresses? I don't know what to tell you but if somehow you can connect with the boy, it may go a long to keeping him from harm and possible reconciliation with his parents.

Gennee

:happy:

SherriePall
01-04-2008, 03:57 PM