PDA

View Full Version : Hormones?

Hana22
01-07-2008, 07:16 PM
I've been tkinking long and hard for a few years now about getting on hormones and going as far as I can with the male to female transition without any surgery. It seems like the more I read the more confused I get. What hormones should I take and how much? I need some advice. I know I need two kinds it seems one to block my male hormones and another to introduce the female ones right?

Sharon
01-07-2008, 07:23 PM
Your doctor should be able to determine what you should take. There are several hormones out there and the dosage really depends on many factors.

You do intend to see a doctor about this -- right?

Hana22
01-07-2008, 07:28 PM
I didn't realize I needed to. Thats why I'm posting here to get some guidance from others :o Looks like I'm going to the doctor soon.

xexoticx
01-07-2008, 07:34 PM
just wondering will ur doctor perscribe u hormones without seeing a therapist at all?

Sharon
01-07-2008, 07:40 PM
Assuming you are in the US, because things may work differently elsewhere -- you need to contact a gender therapist, one who specifically treats gender issues(do a websearch for your area). This therapist would then(presumably) diagnose you as TG and can write you a letter stating such. This could take several sessions or more, but the time spent is invaluable.

Then, you either go to your doctor(GP) and explain things and have him or her take blood tests to determine the health of your liver, pancreas, and assorted other factors, or you can just go to an endocrinologist who can order the same tests and also prescibe the appropriate meds for you. Not all endocrinologists deal with the transgendered, so it will be best to be upfront when you call around.

Just do not take chances with your health and attempt to bypass the professionals -- it won't be worth it if you have complications.

Wendi {LI NY}
01-07-2008, 09:18 PM
Hon,