PDA

View Full Version : My way of coming out.....I think????

Chrissy8888
01-11-2008, 10:34 PM
Like many of you I am a very closeted CD. I have been dressing for about 25 years. At this point I am not sure I would walk out of my house dressed. You know my neighbors know who I am, I really like most of them and would never want to upset, alarm, or offend any of them. Having said that I think if I can get the confidence I will go out and then get dressed if that makes any sense.

Over the years I have bought all of my female clothing via the internet or over the phone. Just greater anonymity. When I did the phone purchases (always before the internet) I never had anybody question what I was doing in a negative way. I always used the front “it’s for my girlfriend”. I did once have a female customer service rep ask me if it was really for my girlfriend. I being as a loss for words told her “no it is for me”. She was not only polite but told me she would send me out some catalogs in an envelope so nobody would no of other things I might like. Of course now with the internet I just order everything online. Nobody in the order or shipping department will ever really pay attention to who the item is for, right? This has allowed me to stay in the closet.

Well I am thinking that it is time that I take baby steps in coming out. So for me I think my way out is going to be by starting to make in-store purchases (in drab). Hey why not right? If a SA asks me who the item is for I guess I will be upfront with her. The absolute worse thing she could say is “oh” and walk away. I might be dreaming here and this is where you girls come in. She may say “well I would recommend you try that on first and take me to a dressing room. She may also tell me that what ever it is that I am looking for would not look good on me but my offer suggestions.