PDA

View Full Version : long haired freaky-kind of people need not apply

sandra-leigh
01-14-2008, 10:52 PM
This afternoon while I was getting some fast food, there was a woman who seemed to be looking over at me an unusual amount, and some how or other she was often in my way, stepping into the same space I was planning to step into several times (the opposite direction from where most people would have turned.) And she's looking over at me in my long (male) coat, and looking over at me, and all she can really see of me is my head and (straight) hair.

And I said to myself, "Oh great, she sees how long my hair is, and she's staring at me because I'm a cross-dresser!"

And then she turns to me and excuses herself, and asks me whether I am a musician (no, not even slightly), explaining that I look a lot like someone she's seen before. (I'm pretty sure I've never seen her before, the nose piercing was distinctive). At which point I said to myself, "Oh great, just what I need, a groupie! :eek: "

But it goes to show you: even when people are looking hard at us, cross-dressing might be the last thing on their mind. We get oversensitive or even paranoid sometimes!

The incident also reminded me of a movie I was watching last night, "Calle 54", a lovely documentary about Latin Jazz. In one of the performances,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G0R7ZAGb6P0
the drummer (unquestionably male) has lovely thick shoulder-length hair with a bit of a wave to it; when I saw a quick peak of it from behind, I temporarily forgot the rest of what I had just seen and said to myself, "That has got to be a woman!" But it wasn't, it was just a guy with great hair, which looked very natural on him.

In turn, seeing him reminded me of some performances I have seen, such as Nana Mouskouri's tours, in which one or two of the greek musicians had somewhat similar shoulder-length hair.