PDA

View Full Version : Transparency

Aeslyn
01-29-2008, 02:06 AM
Wow, I am usually quite the odd guy all the time. Yet I do have this commanding, influential, and often intimidating presence when I am just a guy. Sure, I have a sensitive side and anyone who gets to know me sees that. But now I have to start wondering if that is becoming transparent and if people can see the girl behind that even when I don't feel her lurking around in there.

I work in the public sector sometimes and know the ladies at work very well - I mention them and not the guys who are friends of mine only cause it seems to be only the girls on when I am called in. One of them, an outreach worker, is a close acquaintance of mine. Though a very sensitive man in her presence I am also always very masculine... or so I thought.

Tonight, when she was leaving work. I came across her applying lipstick. I made some off hand comment about her having to apply make up just to drive home and was stunned when she held it out and saying, "want some?"

This might have just been in jest... but... It's certainly got me wondering.

Of course, as much of man mode as I was in tonight, I wanted to accept her offer.

How many of you have had this happen? Been certain that that side of you was not visible to a group of people just to have that certainty called into doubt by a similar situation?

Kate Simmons
01-29-2008, 02:38 AM
LOL, I'm very unpretentious as Rich. When I get a comment like that I go with it and play it for all it's worth. This is why I get along with the gals so well as they know I can laugh at myself and don't have such a fragile male ego and don't feel threatened by such a comment.:happy:

Val Tan
01-29-2008, 03:20 AM