PDA

View Full Version : A question for all TS, with due respect

kerrianna
02-26-2008, 05:29 AM
Actually I have a couple of questions and I'm hoping that people who identify as TS here will be kind enough to answer them as best they can, and that no one will jump in and start kicking dust around because I am SOOOOOO tired of seeing that here and on other T-sites.

I ask these questions respectfully and sincerely, because I am trying to understand better. I want to ask this in my LiveJournal T-Communities, where the dust-ups are nearly daily, but I thought I should start with people I know and trust better. And with a forum that's moderated more closely.

Ok. So I'm still learning about trans stuff, seeing as it's been less than 2 years that I discovered there was actually something happening.

One thing I recognized early on from this site was that there seems to be a seperation between TS people and the rest of the TG world, although in general terms TG seems to be used to encompass and sometimes in the media replace TS. But I always understood it to be seperate. It's why, to this day, because I don't entirely identify with people who ID as TS I don't call myself that, even if that may change at some time.

So first question:
How did you come to identify as TS? Was it self identifying or was it a label that someone else (shrink, etc) gave you?

Okay, the second question I ask because there's a huge reaction across the T lines about the idea of TS being biologically driven and in that sense either labelled a 'disorder' 'illness' 'birth defect' 'HB Syndrome" etc.

I hear a lot of people say they don't consider themselves defective or sick or mentally ill. I understand why they would say that. I don't consider my transness a product of that either.

But having said that, WHAT would you say is responsible for you being TS?