PDA

View Full Version : Crossdressing & Creativity

Phoebe Diana
05-09-2005, 11:17 AM
When I was growing up, there was no doubt in my mind what I was going to do for a living--I was going to be a writer. I have some talent. I have had some very good training. My life is set up to support writing as a possibility (my wife is also a writer). And I have been utterly and completely blocked for most of the last (*counts*) 17 years.

Until about a month ago, when Phoebe kicked and screamed and made me let her out.

Since then I've managed to actually get some writing done on a sustained basis. If that keeps up for another couple of weeks, then that will definitely be my longest productive period in those last 17 years. It seems pretty clear to me that Phoebe is the writer around here. (Not that I am usually dressed when I write--most of my writing currently gets done on my lunch break, so that wouldn't work anyway. But she's there.)

However...the nature of the writer's block beast is that it taunts you with "breakthroughs" that then turn out to be nothing in the end. So I was wondering what experience some of the others in this group had had with this. Has crossdressing had any effect on your level of creativity? (Positively or negatively.) If it has, was it a long-term effect or a short-term one? And I'm not just asking for "artists" to respond--all of us are creative at something.

And two quick notes--Phoebe's presence is not contingent on my writing. She doesn't get sent back to her room if she doesn't produce. And I am about at the point where I would roll in peanut butter and run through a forest full of hungry squirrels if it would get this one book written, so if all I have to do is let Phoebe play to get it done, well that's a double relief.

Phoebe

Julie York
05-09-2005, 11:29 AM