PDA

View Full Version : Changing Names

tasha_cd
05-19-2008, 07:55 PM
I was curious

I've just started transistioning so I still look like a bloke, Short Hair, clean shaven but still have the dark shadow. I am a bus driver and wear a uniform which is excally the same for both men and women (no imagination on management behalf) and I hope to continue working for this company as I both like what I do and the staff and other drivers there.

What I wanted to know is other what other girls did about changing their name at work. The people you work with, when did you tell them to call you something else and did you change it legally straight away or were you just known by that name for a while before anything offical.

Tash

Cathii
05-19-2008, 11:36 PM
Hi Tash

I work for a large government department and so the way I went about it may not suit you. Perhaps though you might like to take some ideas from what I did and apply it to your situation.

The first thing I did was talk to my union and get the exact legal position I would be in. Even though I have never needed it, their advise was wonderful and well worth having. They made me aware of state and federal law which might effect me and also specific parts of my work contract that might have a bearing on my circumstance. They even offered to send a rep to come with me when I spoke to management.