PDA

View Full Version : Finding a friendly hairstylist

Jannis
11-08-2008, 08:37 PM
I have been growing out my hair for about 6 months and I have been telling my stylist it is just me wanting to have longer hair. She is OK with men and longer hair, but I wanted to tell her to start styling it unisex so I can wear it dressed or drab. Well, when I got the nerve to ask her for that, she left the area and now I want to find a CD friendly stylist who will help me with hair and, perhaps, beauty tips. I was planning on calling anonymously to various beaty shops and asking up front for what I want and is there a stylist available who would be comfortable working with me. I would love to find one who can treat me as a feminine client and talk about clothing, jewelry and make-up. Is this an appropriate way of doing this? What other questions should I ask? Do any of you have such a relationship with your hair person.

Jenna1561
11-08-2008, 08:48 PM
Jannis,

I'm sorry your regular stylist reacted in that manner - it was very unprofessional. I've done the same thing you're considering, that is phoning and asking if the salon had any difficulties with a transsexual/transgendered client. None have ever indicated it would be a problem. Finding a stylist whom you're comfortable with and is competent is a blessing. Don't let your previous bigoted stylist bring you down. Good Luck!

Jenna

tamarav
11-08-2008, 08:50 PM
I am a hairstylist and I hear this fairly often.

The biggest problem with this whole idea, is you, and no, I am not trying to be rude.

Stop worrying how we are going to take your request, you are not the first. Just walk in, find a stylist that you think looks good and ask. 99.999% of us will say, sit down. We cut women's hair all day so it is nothing different for us, just you....

Hairdressers love a challenge and if you ask you can generally get anything you want. Did you want highlights with that?