PDA

View Full Version : Work event brings a question

CrossdressinGoth
12-21-2008, 10:09 AM
I work as an overnight cashier at Walmart and I had something happen last night that got me thinking. We have a customer that is transgendered, he does fairly good job passing as a lady in her 50's. The way this person acts you can tell they are unsure in public and are a little nervous with many workers and customers around. I had a lady and her daughter in my line looking, staring, and cracking jokes about this transgendered individual. I saw the nice lady walk past me and I smiled and said "You have a wonderful night." She smiled and said thank you. The two ladies in my line started to laugh and crack comments. They were next for me in line to checkout and they asked did you see that guy dressed as a woman. I told them yes I did and I think shes a very kind customer and a lovely dresser. They were shocked. I flat out told them I myself am a crossdresser and I admire her ability to stand up to closed minded people, especially in this state. I then told them their remarks about the lady offended me very much and I asked they do not do that again. Transgender persons are human beings and should be treated like loving friends and family. Needless to say the customers weren't happy with me and quickly paid and left.

What gets me wondering, what would you truly do if you saw this happen as a worker or a customer? Would you say anything? Stay quiet?

Sara Jessica
12-21-2008, 10:12 AM
You are certainly brave to have said what you did, and you did the right thing of course.

Whether or not each of us would do the same thing given similar circumstances would depend on our careers and if we could afford to be outed so you should be commended for being so brave. Unfortunately, you also run the risk of this customer somehow justifying making a complaint to management who in turn could make your life heck. I sincerely hope that doesn't happen to you.

Intertwined
12-21-2008, 10:17 AM