PDA

View Full Version : Hair loss and HRT

ria_ts
01-03-2009, 12:53 AM
Hi,

I am new on this site. I am also quite new to transitioning.

I knew when I was about 3 years old that something was not the same about me that other people seemed to take for granted. Things did not make much sense. It took me several years to get to the point of self-acceptance. However, by that time, I lost most of my hair. My hair loss began when I was about 14 years old. I am the only one in my entire family to be going bald. Even my grandparents who died in their 90s had a full head of (white) hair. My mom was worried for me and she got me every possible medicine. I was finally depressed about my hair loss when I got rejected by my first ever date when I was 22. I went to hair doctors, but even they rejected me and they told me that I was not the right candidate for hair transplant because my donor site on the back of my head was also losing hair. Rejections from everywhere devastated me. By 24, I was on the Norwood scale of 5 for male-pattern baldness (I am 31 now). That was the first time someone suggested minoxidil as a safe option. Until then people were scaring me saying that because my blood pressure is very low already, minoxidil could kill me. Anyway, minoxidil never really worked for me to grow any new hair.