PDA

View Full Version : Awkward, somewhat "personal" thing I'd like help with

Thornton
01-14-2009, 07:58 PM
Ok, so I'm a newbie on this site. I'm also still pretty young. Though I identify as male and have alerted those around me of this, I have not yet gone through the hormone or surgery part of the process...

I don't like to acknowledge it, so, I'll just get it over with and ask. For all you guys out there in similar situations,

How do you deal with having periods?

ZenFrost
01-14-2009, 08:50 PM
Generally this kind of thread would be much better suited for the Clubhouse, but you're not in there and don't have enough posts ATM so I think if this thread remains decent and doesn't go into tampons/pads etc. (as says in the rules) it can stay here.

To answer your question, my strategy for dealing with the horrible monthlies is to basically ignore them. I try my best to just ignore all the symptoms and pain and mood swings and pretend it's not there. I know denial isn't healthy or whatever but it's all I can do. Being on testosterone for a while helped to taper the symptoms down a bit (FYI mine are excruciating beyond belief, come with horrendous migraines, extreme mood swings, overwhelming fatigue, sudden weight gain and bloating, induce anemia due to how constantly heavy they are, last 8-14 days, and occur 17-20+ times a year irregularly--T knocked all of that down to a more manageable level) but since I went off and am just now restarting I'm back to where I was when I started and it'll most likely take months again for things to taper down.

When I get a period, I do everything I can to not think about it at all, obviously it can't be ignored completely but I try to push my mind to other things constantly so I'm not thinking about the horror of what my body is doing. For those times when I can't pretend it's not there, I try to disassociate myself from my body, objectively see it happening but not considering it to be me.

John
01-15-2009, 01:32 AM
DRUGS!!!