PDA

View Full Version : Where Can I wear a skirt as a Guy

skirt_guy
01-24-2009, 12:29 AM
OK, I am an airline pilot. Wear a skirt where I can but with much reservation, not trying to be a girl, just like wearing a skirt. Are there places that you know of that I can wear a skirt in male mode without fear of retribution? I don't mind the occasional glance or stare, but don't care for the group of guys heckling me from across the gas station. I'll never see them again but it interrupts my thought of just being one with the many.

SG

KimberlyS
01-24-2009, 01:15 AM
The times I have been out as a guy wearing a skirt and usually some other feminine attire I have been away from home and just go shopping and hit the malls or other similar public places. And usually a stop for a meal. Yea get some looks. But like you said I will never see them again.

skirt_guy
01-24-2009, 01:19 AM
Are there cities that lend themselves to being more inclined to allowing such dress? I've been through so many hotel halls that it's grown old. Fly to NY and you might as well be in a foreign county. What about the NW? Portland was pretty open minded. Ideas? Still looking for ideas for guy friendly shoes with skirts. My black loafers don't look right with hose and a knee length skirt, but then neither does nike running shoes. caught in the middle......Thanks.

joann07
01-24-2009, 01:24 AM
Are there cities that lend themselves to being more inclined to allowing such dress? I've been through so many hotel halls that it's grown old. Fly to NY and you might as well be in a foreign county. What about the NW? Portland was pretty open minded. Ideas? Still looking for ideas for guy friendly shoes with skirts. My black loafers don't look right with hose and a knee length skirt, but then neither does nike running shoes. caught in the middle......Thanks.

San Francisco and Seattle are two cities I know that are very open.
As for buying skirts, I'd go to the local thrift store, such as Goodwill, to start.