Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Crossdressing noob... help?

Question Crossdressing noob... help?

So I'm really new to this whole transgender thing. I've known about my gender identification issues for a while, but kept it secret except from my closest friends. Up until now my only release about my desire to be male is my online world, in which I have been portraying myself as male for two years. But now the craving to be male is getting to be too much.. I've been close to tears over this damn thing... and I've decided to take a small step to try and release my inner male a bit. I've never crossdressed before.. and I want to know how to do it convincingly. The main thing that has stopped me from trying is my fear of still looking too girly. I'm hoping to get my hair cut short soon.. and I really would appreciate some tips and help with the entire crossdressing subject. Any advice will be a huge help

1) what type of haircut would make me look most like a guy? (i was thinking an emo-style haircut with fringe to help hide my face) How do I go about getting the hair salon to cut my hair the way I want? What hair style would look best on me? (i'll post links to my pics at the bottom for refference)

2) How can I hide my feminine features? Besides binding (which i intend to do, using ace bandages) Any tips to make myself look, sound, or appear more masculine?

3) What about clothes? I don't even know how to shop for myself as a female, let alone as a male. What styles of dress will be most helpful in keeping myself looking masculine? My style is mainly punk/goth and I would like to transfer that over to my male clothing, if possible. Tips or suggestions?

4) How do I deal with friends who are begging me to stay looking the way I currently do because I'm supposibly 'pretty"? How do I go about telling my mother about my craving to be male without her being really confused and think i'm going through a phaze?