Thread: New to transition and my story

New to transition and my story

Hello all! My name is Jesse. I'm 21 years old and I'm an art student currently studying Illustration.

I've known for a long time that I'm not a "girl." Probably since I was able to be aware of myself. I had an older brother and I always wanted to hang out with him. I used to want to walk around without a shirt on and all of my best friends when I was little were boys. Not that this really means anything, it's just funny that I always "knew."

I started thinking I was gay when I turned 13. I began noticing other girls. I got my first real girlfriend when I was 17, and a year later I broke up with her because I fell in love with my best friend. She (my best friend) confessed to me four days after my 19th birthday. I had just gotten my lip pierced and I was in love with life.

A year of painfully hiding my love of her from our parents and our friends later, we moved to the capital city and she started going to school to become a veterinary technician. She said she wanted to take a break to concentrate on school, I was hurt but I understood and wanted to do everything to help her out. We never got back together. She wonders if she is straight, and if I am enough to keep her happy. Sadness.

It was then that I started to realize what I had always known was true, I am really a guy. I had been having confusing feelings in the past, but after watching a few documentaries and reading up on it, I realized I wasn't alone. I had started to accept who I am and what that meant.

I'm still not "out" to the people in my life other than my ex, and a few really close friends. I haven't begun transitioning other than letting my confidants know that I prefer to be referred to as "he" and I've binded a bit.