Thread: Waist training health risks.

Waist training health risks.

I've heard that waist training with a corset can potentially damage internal organs. Can someone knowledgeable please elaborate on this for me? I just bought a corset and love the shape it gives me, but i want to be sure I know the risks of long term use. Thanks!

The damage, as far as I have read up is usually caused by noobs trying to go too far too quickly.
    Take your time and go in stages.
    After a few weeks of extended wear periods, your organs become more acustomed to being moved around and cope much better.
    If you try and take off 5" on your first 8 hour wear, then you may give yourself problems.
    Samantha -x-

I'm not an expert, but a good tip to always remember is to never try and reduce your waist more than four inches from it's current size. So, if your a thirty-two waist, you would not want to try and corset down to any more than 28. When you lose weight and train your figure, you'll see a natural waist reduction, so that you can go a further four inches FROM that new waist size. Almost all of The Reputable Corset Sellers recommend a max four inch reduction.

There are "stories" that you can find from Victorian Times about women fainting, and rearranging their organs. I can't validate any of those stories, and I've never seen proof. But remember, Victorian Women were often trying to reduce their waists to unbelievable proportions. (some young women down to 18 inches, and sometimes less than fifteen) In effect, they were almost cutting themselves in two, and I imagine that was not The Norm for older women.

If you start having pain that's unrelieved when you remove your Corset, it's time to back off! Don't try and take the full four inches right off the bat, just do a little more each day. You should be fine.

Peace and Love, Joanie