Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking for Work Advise

Unhappy Looking for Work Advise

I have never gone out dressed as a women (other than one burning man and that does not count). The only person who has ever seen me in my "alter ego" is my Girl Friend. Yet, something has come up and she feels I should go public.

My department is awesome and the people around me that I work with directly are awesome. We have a massive amount of respect for each other. Yet, upper management (who other area of the building) have other ideas about me.

I have learned that my work is looking to let me go but has not yet built their case fully yet. My supervisor is fighting to keep me. She and I work really well together.

I am an older male graphic designer and they want a younger person with a younger view point for my job. They are looking at options. Obviously they won't let on that it's an Age thing. That would be illegal and amoral. Companies find other ways to make things like this work out for themselves. For example, upper management gave my supervisor "their" personal input for my review. So, instead after getting 6 years of absolutely impeccable reviews (4.5's or better for 6 years), I am getting 2.75's to 3's with lame excuses. My supervisor does not and can not afford to loose her job and so....gave the review.

So here is my dilemma.

If I lose my job, I will most likely loose my house and just spiral down from there. My girlfriend feels I should show up at work dressed as a women. She feels that then, if they fire me, I can claim discrimination. I am pretty sure if I show up dressed as a women, they will for sure let me go. Still citing what ever other than the Cross Dressing (or Expressing who I am). So lets say they don't let me go out of fear of reprisal and bad publicity. It is still a problem. The idea of going to work as a women that is. Here is why -