Thread: The older we get....

The older we get....

I'm sitting here thinking about my life and were I am. I've been dressing for almost 50 years, but only realized about my real fem side about two years ago...that there was truly a complete otherside of me and she deserved to be here. I know raising a family probally slowed her being here...but I've noticed that we become more open about who we are as we get older...am I right? What do you think?

Platinum Member
    I think it's true. Maybe it's because we are past the point of no return, or we are at a point in our lives where we no longer feel the need to hide - especially from ourselves. For me, the change has come from within, as in greater self acceptance and greater self confidence, and from without, in the support of my wife, family and friends.

Since retirement going on 9 years now. Dressing has been pretty much fulltime. Am enjoying it real well and answer to nobody.

California Dreamin Michaelasfun's Avatar
    I agree, Diana. I think the first half of life we spend trying to fit in, and the second half we spend realizing mortality and that being ourselves is far more important than trying to be what someone else thinks you should be. With age comes a certain amount of freedom from worrying what everyone else thinks and enjoying ourselves for who we are.
    Michaela

If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice. - Rush

Miriam
    It certainly does come easier now than when I was younger. Like others, I guess I'm less concerned about others judgment of me, and less paranoid. Also, I spent so many years doing everything for the others in my life that I no longer feel guilty for indulging myself a bit.

Miriam